Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya

Tagore National Fellowship for Cultural Research

The Ministry of Culture, Government of India, introduced a new scheme called “Visiting Fellows in Art, Culture & Heritage”. This was mainly done with the purpose of encouraging scholars to conduct research using cultural institutions and their resources, much of which remain unknown to the larger public even today. As part of the 150th birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore, this scheme was renamed “Tagore National Fellowship for Cultural Research” in Tagore’s honour.

The Ministry selected CSMVS as one of the cultural institutes from the western part of India for this prestigious Fellowship scheme.

Since its inception, three scholars have been awarded this prestigious fellowship:

Dr. M. K. Dhavalikar was awarded the Tagore National Fellowship for the year 2009-10. An eminent archaeologist, he focused his research on Heritage of a Metropolis: Art & Archaeology of Mumbai (upto 1200 CE). His study has been published as a book “Cultural Heritage of Mumbai”

Dr. Gautama Vajracharya was awarded the Tagore National Fellowship for the year 2012-14. Having done his Ph. D in South Asian languages and literature, Dr. Vajracharya is a renowned scholar in Nepalese art. He undertook research on Nepalese Art in the Collections of the CSMVS and Jnana-Pravaha, Varanasi. The publication work of his book is nearing completion.

Dr. Shereen Ratnagar was awarded the Tagore National Fellowship for the year 2013-15. The publication work of her book The Magic in the Image: Women in Clay at Mohenjo-daro and Harappa based on her study is in progress.